Can you become Immortal?

Can you become immortal? Did the ancients find a way to do so? If we look to the past we can find that in a form they did. If we look to the past we can see that there are some beliefs that if a person’s name is remembered and spoken about then they have found a way to become immortal.

Let’s start with the ancient beliefs in general. How do we know so much about them? How do we know that they existed? We have learned from the people who talked about them. We have the legends that were told more and more over the years. The spelling of the names are from the way that the sites list them. They aren’t misspellings.

Ancient Greece

If we look at a common story, the Spartan 300, how do we know about them. We know about the legend of the 300 through the stories of Herodotus (c. 484 -c.425 BC)1 Leonidas the 1st lived from around 530 BC -480 BC. He is known for the legend of the last stand against the Persian invaders. He was the son of the Spartan King Anaxandrides and was said to be the descended from the Greek cult hero Heracles. 2

The Spartans had a strange way of looking at things. Leonidas was the second child born to the king’s first wife. His second wife (contrary to the Spartan custom) had his first born male son, Cleomenes became the heir to the throne. However, the fates were ironic. Cleomenes was psychologically impaired and possibly mentally handicapped. When their father died, he took the throne instead of Dorieus who was Leonidas’s older brother. Unable to live under his brother’s rule, Dorieus set sail for distant lands and ended up passing away.2

When his brother Cleomenes died, he had no male heir so Leonidas who had been the commander of the Spartan army. The Spartan king was expected to be the first in the march and the last to retreat in times of war.

The reason we know about the Spartan King Leonidas was the fact that King Xerxes decided to invade Greece with the Persian Army.



Ancient Egypt

When we think of Ancient Egypt we think of the pyramids of Giza. But there is more that we need to think about, how do we know about the pharaohs? How do we know about what they did and when they ruled? The legends that we know are from the writings of the past including the hieroglyphs.

The most common way that we know if it is through the tombs of the pharaohs. When the Ancient Egyptians died, they were mummified and the tombs of the pharaohs were filled with the items that they would need in the afterlife. They believed that you would need food, all your earthly possessions and your body for the afterlife. They also believed that you needed a series of spells to get passed the dangers of getting to the afterlife.


 

 

Suggested reading

http://biography.yourdictionary.com/leonidas-i

http://www.touregypt.net/afterlife6.htm

 

 

Sources:

1} http://www.history.com/topics/ancient-history/leonidas

2} http://biography.yourdictionary.com/leonidas-i

241 thoughts on “Can you become Immortal?

  1. Hello! I know this is kinda off topic however , I’d figured
    I’d ask. Would you be interested in exchanging links or maybe guest writing a blog
    article or vice-versa? My website discusses a lot of the same subjects as yours
    and I think we could greatly benefit from each other.
    If you might be interested feel free to send me an email.
    I look forward to hearing from you! Excellent blog by the
    way!

    Like

  2. I think that is among the so much important info for me.
    And i am happy reading your article. However wanna remark on some general things, The website style is wonderful,
    the articles is really great : D. Excellent activity, cheers

    Like

  3. Howdy! I know this is kinda off topic but I was wondering if you knew where
    I could get a captcha plugin for my comment form?
    I’m using the same blog platform as yours and I’m having difficulty finding
    one? Thanks a lot!

    Like

  4. Hey I know this is off topic but I was wondering if you knew
    of any widgets I could add to my blog that automatically tweet my newest twitter updates.

    I’ve been looking for a plug-in like this for quite some time and was hoping maybe you
    would have some experience with something like this.
    Please let me know if you run into anything. I truly enjoy reading your blog and I look
    forward to your new updates.

    Like

  5. I blog often and I really appreciate your content. This article has truly peaked my
    interest. I will bookmark your blog and keep checking
    for new details about once a week. I opted in for your RSS feed too.

    Like

  6. I have to thank you for the efforts you’ve put in penning this blog.
    I’m hoping to view the same high-grade content from you later on as well.
    In fact, your creative writing abilities has motivated me to
    get my own site now 😉

    Like

  7. Great goods from you, man. I have be mindful your
    stuff prior to and you’re simply extremely
    wonderful. I really like what you’ve got here, really like what you are stating and the way in which by which you are saying it.
    You are making it entertaining and you still care for to stay it wise.
    I can not wait to learn much more from you. That is actually a wonderful site.

    Like

  8. I am extremely inspired together with your writing skills
    as well as with the format for your blog. Is this a paid subject or did you
    modify it your self? Either way stay up the nice quality writing, it is rare to look a great weblog like this one nowadays..

    Like

  9. Hey! I’m at work browsing your blog from my new iphone
    4! Just wanted to say I love reading through
    your blog and look forward to all your posts!
    Carry on the outstanding work!

    Like

  10. Excellent site you’ve got here.. It’s hard to find high quality writing like yours these days.
    I honestly appreciate individuals like you! Take care!!

    Like

  11. Wow, marvelous blog layout! How long have you been blogging for?
    you make blogging look easy. The overall look of your website is wonderful, let alone the content!

    Like

  12. Pretty part of content. I simply stumbled upon your blog and in accession capital to assert that
    I get in fact loved account your weblog posts. Anyway I will be subscribing to your augment or even I success you access consistently quickly.

    Like

  13. Spot on with this write-up, I truly believe this web site needs far more attention. I’ll
    probably be back again to read more, thanks for the info!

    Like

  14. Quality articles or reviews is the important to interest the viewers to pay a visit
    the website, that’s what this website is providing.

    Like

  15. Normally I do not read post on blogs, but I would like to say that this write-up very compelled
    me to try and do so! Your writing taste has been amazed me.
    Thanks, very great article.

    Like

  16. Excellent post. Keep posting such kind of info on your site.
    Im really impressed by your blog.
    Hi there, You’ve performed a great job. I will definitely digg
    it and for my part recommend to my friends. I’m sure they’ll be benefited from
    this web site.

    Like

  17. Hi there! I know this is kinda off topic but I’d figured I’d ask.
    Would you be interested in trading links or maybe guest
    authoring a blog post or vice-versa? My website discusses a
    lot of the same topics as yours and I believe we could greatly benefit from each other.
    If you happen to be interested feel free to send me an e-mail.
    I look forward to hearing from you! Wonderful blog by the
    way!

    Like

  18. I’m not positive where you’re getting your information,
    but great topic. I must spend a while studying much more or working out more.
    Thank you for excellent information I was searching for this information for my
    mission.

    Like

  19. Nice post. I used to be checking constantly this blog
    and I’m inspired! Very useful information specially the closing phase 🙂 I deal with such information a
    lot. I used to be looking for this particular information for
    a very long time. Thank you and good luck.

    Like

  20. Magnificent goods from you, man. I’ve understand your stuff previous
    to and you’re just extremely excellent. I really like what you
    have acquired here, really like what you are stating and the way in which you say it.

    You make it enjoyable and you still take care of to keep it
    smart. I cant wait to read much more from you. This is actually
    a great site.

    Like

  21. It’s a pity you don’t have a donate button! I’d most certainly donate to this fantastic blog!
    I guess for now i’ll settle for bookmarking and adding your RSS feed to my
    Google account. I look forward to new updates and will talk
    about this website with my Facebook group.

    Chat soon!

    Like

  22. Hi, i think that i saw you visited my web site so i came to “return the favor”.I am trying to find things to improve my website!I suppose its ok
    to use some of your ideas!!

    Like

  23. I do not even know how I finished up right here, however I believed
    this submit was great. I do not understand who
    you might be but certainly you’re going to a well-known blogger if you happen to
    are not already. Cheers!

    Like

  24. Howdy very nice website!! Guy .. Beautiful .. Wonderful ..
    I’ll bookmark your blog and take the feeds also? I am glad to seek
    out numerous useful info here within the publish, we want develop more techniques on this
    regard, thank you for sharing. . . . . .

    Like

  25. I was suggested this blog by my cousin. I am not sure whether this post is written by him as no one else know such detailed about my
    problem. You’re amazing! Thanks!

    Like

  26. I just like the valuable information you supply in your articles.
    I will bookmark your weblog and check again here regularly.

    I am fairly sure I’ll learn lots of new stuff right right here!

    Good luck for the following!

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.