5 Fingers – 5 Ways to calm down

This is going to sound so strange but trust me when I say that this works wonderfully. I take classes at the VA Medical Center near my home and this was taught to us as one of the ways to calm down and ground ourselves.

The way that this works is simple – take a deep breath in and slowly let it out. Now we have on average 5 fingers (there are some that have less and you can still do this but it was taught to us this way.)

As you slow your breathing look at your desk or around you. If you are alone you can say it out loud or if you are in an office say them mentally. What are the 5 things that you can see? Doing this sitting at my desk right now, it is the laptop, the keyboard, a container with large safety pins, a candle, and the external hard drive.

OK, what four things can you hear? Doing this right now, the foil from my husband making dinner, my cat stretching, the video I am listening to, and the keys from I am typing on.

OK, what three things can I smell? Dinner, the candle and the fresh air coming in my window. OK two – what two things can I feel? My computer keyboard and the floor beneath my feet and finally one. What can I taste? The coffee that I drank.

When you do this it sounds and feels strange but you will feel relaxed due to the simple fact that you have to come up with the things that you are seeing, hearing, feeling and using your senses on.

You can change it up and it gets to be so relaxing due to the fact that your stress level will come down when you do this. Try it you might be surprised on how well it works.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.